Playing with her left hand

When it comes to playing with Isa, there’s always the struggle to make her use a little bit more her left arm, specially the hand, because of the brain malformation being on the right side of her brain, her left side of the body doesn’t respond as good as the right, and it is more noticeable in her left hand, she can really ignore it if she wants to. She has developed a lot of strength on her right arm because she basically uses it for everything. When she drinks from her sippy cup, we have to make sure it’s not to full with water so it is not so heavy and when she grabs it with her right hand we always go and put her left hand on the left handle, because she wouldn’t do it by herself, sometimes she keeps the left hand there, but sometimes she just let’s go of it right away.

IMAG1031

She wears a wrist-band support on her left hand to help her open the hand easier, specially since the thumb comes in all the time and an arm band support at night to help her stretch the arm at night, so she doesn’t lose the movement on it.

IMAG0938

Sometimes when I look at her playing with her toys, I see how hard it is for her to do some stuff, she can’t grab big balls or anything big because she wants to do it with just one hand, so it becomes impossible, she tries and tries and then just moves on to something else, something smaller and easy to grab with her little fingers. I was thinking how hard and frustrating it must be for her, but at the same time I realized that for her this is normal, she was born this way, so she has never experienced what it is to use both hands to do something. There are some moments when she will use both hands, when she plays with paper for example, she uses both, sometimes with some toys she will bring the left hand along and try to grab something but not so much. We do this sock training with her, where she has to have a sock on her right hand for 20 minutes and stimulate her to use her left, she basically hates it! she gets so frustrated and quickly pulls the sock off with her mouth, so we keep trying and trying. I tell myself that maybe it will be better when she understands a bit more that she needs to train the hand and cooperate a bit more.

DSC_0169 DSC_0173 DSC_0176

Something that we have been noticing recently is how vocal she has become, she talks a lot lately, from the moment she wakes up to the moment she falls asleep, we were at a friend’s place yesterday for lunch and we just couldn’t stop laughing of how much she was participating in the conversation and she was so loud, it’s just so much fun. This week she has also started waving and understanding to say “good-bye” with her hand, she understands it in spanish when we say “adios” to her and she responds back, she’s also doing it when we say “hola”, which makes me so happy!! She is growing up listening to 3 different languages all the time so we don’t know how long is going to take for her to try to say some words, we are hoping that she has no speech problems, we just have to wait and see, yesterday when I was saying “adios” to her, we noticed 2 times that she was trying to say it too, but maybe it was our imagination maybe not.

June is gone and she still can’t crawl or move by her self, I still think that it will happen any day, I’m just waiting and waiting, training and training, but she has finally become good at rolling over, so good that she fell from our bed for the first time, I felt so bad, but it also caught us by surprise it just happened so fast, after feeling awful I smiled thinking that it was a good thing, she was moving and moving is great.

3 thoughts on “Playing with her left hand

  1. I have Cerebral Palsy too. It affects both my legs and my left arm. I’m 22 and find that sometimes I do have to make an effort to use my left hand more. I can do lots of things with it, but it is much weaker than my right and starts to ache really quckly is I try and carry anything with it. I can’t move my fingers as quickly either.When I was young my mum used to give me cereal like Rice Krispies or Coco Pops to eat, and sometimes, she would give me some without milk and spend ages trying to get me to pass them from hand to hand to build up my strength and control in my left hand. Now that I’m older I try and do things myself that will help me to make it stronger. It’s a slow process but I’m hoping that I will suceed eventually.

    • Thanks for your message Nicolanoo 🙂 … You have no idea how much I appreciate it, because it helps me understand a little bit more what Isa might be feeling or experimenting. I’ll keep on helping her to train the most we can.

  2. Isa is one of the sweetest little girls I’ve ever seen, I’m counting my baby too 😉 Yo te entiendo prefectamente en cuanto a que no sabes si gateará o si caminará algun dia. Nosotros tampoco sabiamos si Sophia se iba a sentar sola algun dia, y imaginate que un dia nos sorprendio y entramos al cuarto de ella y estaba sentada!!! Despues nos sorprendio gateando, no sabemos si va a caminar sola algun dia pero no tenenemos prisa, sabemos que ella lo hará cuando este lista para hacerlo. Isa lo hará a su tiempo y ese dia sera motivo de celebracion! Tienes mucha razon cuando dices que ella depronto no sabe que se pueden usar las dos manos para agarrar cosas porque para ella es normal usar una. Nunca habia pensado en eso, gracias por hacerme caer en cuenta. No puedo esperar a ver que cosas hace tu pequeñita. Un abrazo!

Leave a Reply

